maebehere

New Beginnings

on November 7, 2013

What is not started today is never finished tomorrow. -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe 

So… Hmm… knowing where to start is always the hardest part, isn’t it? Let’s keep it simple, let’s start at Hello.

Hello.

So why am I here? I guess because many of my friends and family have blogs and I enjoy having that window into their lives. I coveted their ability to connect to strangers simply by painting a picture of their day to day lives… the fact that somehow… when expressed on a page….  even the simplest things can suddenly become so beautiful. I wanted my own window, my own picture.

I never really managed to start though, I guess because I didn’t know what to say… and I didn’t know that anyone would listen. However, somewhere along the way I realised…. it doesn’t really have to be about other people, now does it? Write it for YOU, if other people read it, that’s ok… but write it for YOU.

Sometimes I do just like to write, just to remember the things that happen to me, to crystallize my own thoughts, to muse, to ramble. The act of writing is cathartic… soothing…  But most importantly, it captures a moment for yourself. You can’t have a time machine… but you can have a diary. When I was young I only ever kept a diary for one year because I became too paranoid that someone might find it and read my terribly important preteen dramas to ever keep one again. But now, I treasure that stupid diary. That embarrassing diary full of inane nothing, the friendships, the break ups, the first love and the tantrums.

I treasure it because it is a perfect time capsule .

I remember that one year in which I kept a diary better than any other year in my youth…. not because it was an especially exciting year…. but simply because memories fade and that was the only year I had ever written down.

I guess this is something like that. A lot has happened to me in the past two years… last year in particular was the year that my whole life as I knew it stopped.

Because last year was the year I found out I had stage 4 cancer.

Everything after that was a new beginning. Nothing would ever be the same. I had to learn so many things. I had to become a new person.  A person who learned to live in the moment. Learned to fight. Learned what it meant to be brave.  I want and need to capture that. So that in years to come, if I am still here, I can look back and say, that’s what I did. I did that. I survived that. I don’t ever want to let myself forget.

Last year was when the old me died, this year was when the new me began.

And she is BROKEN but she is STRONG. She is SCARED but she is DETERMINED.

I want to celebrate her. Remember her.  So this will be where I tell her story. My story. My new diary in an electronic age.

This is mainly for me, but if it helps others who are going to be heading along a similar path than all the better. Cancer is a scary diagnosis and the journey won’t be easy. But you will learn things, you will grow, you will gain an amazing perspective on life that not many other people get. Life throws you challenges so you can learn from them. Cancer is one hell of a challenge. USE it. Even if all it does is show you how amazing you are just for getting through another surgery, another chemo or even just another day… that is enough. Everyone who fights this, you are already a hero, you should know it.

So anyway, this is it. Here I am. I am not sure how this will progress or even if it will progress…. but no journey is started without that first step.


10 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. Jackie Birch says:

    Just found your blog from your sisters link on Facebook. Sorry to hear that you have cancer, thank you for sharing your life with people. It is amazing who you can meet trough online blogs. Looking forward to following your journey 🙂

  2. Sarah H says:

    Mae this is beautifully written. I used to keep diaries and I threw them out because I was embarrassed by me, I was just embarrassed being me! Now I too wish I had these words thrown together on paper to try and understand who I used to be and hopefully laugh now. I do find writing good for the soul and I hope you do too 🙂 xx

  3. Kelly says:

    Mae I am so happy that you have made a start here at your own blog. I have followed your sister’s blog for many years and shared through her parts of your story. I hope you know that you have fans all around the globe cheering you on. I look forward to whatever you want to share here in this virtual room of your own. So very nice to meet you.

  4. Karen says:

    Go you, Mae! Now I will have something else interesting looking forward to reading. I am going to start a travel blog soon. I have to learn to use ‘pebble-pad’ in order to write my reflective e-journal for one of my assessments next year, and I figured a travel blog about my trip to France was the perfect way to do that. 🙂

  5. Lynelle says:

    You have made an amazing journey. I’m sure others will love to read it. XX

  6. Jenny F says:

    Hello Mae – good to hear about you and how you are doing. Haven’t seen you for a long time when you were in and out of our house!
    Hugs
    Jenny

  7. Deb says:

    So beautifully written! So brave of you to share, thank you, I look forward to seeing where the journey takes you ❤ I kept diaries for nearly ten years, I love going back and reading them, warts and all LOL! I wonder what will happen or who will find them when my time here is passed 🙂

  8. maebehere says:

    YAY, thanks for the comments everyone 🙂 How exciting! I look forward to writing the next one now 🙂

  9. Shae says:

    I also found your blog through your sister’s link, as I had read earlier about your diagnosis. A friend of mine has been fighting stage IIIc ovarian cancer (originally diagnosed as stage 4 colon until they typed it) since October 2012. She is terminal but determined to make the most of her life. You can find her on FB: Nicole Rolin Teague. She also made a video from her hospital bed soon after diagnosis that is on YouTube. I encourage you to watch it. I think you would both find encouragement and understanding in each other’s words.I am going to let her know about your blog also. You can also find her story on the baldisbeautifulcampaign.blogspot blog. I wish you healing and health. Thank you for sharing yourself with us!

Leave a comment